The Book of Deuteronomy is the fifth book of the Hebrew Bible and consists of three sermons delivered to the Israelites by Moses on the plains of Moab, shortly before entering the Promised Land.  Its authorship is seen as the words of Moses delivered before the conquest of Canaan but could have been compiled from oral tradition.