The New Testament is the second major division of the Christian Bible and represents a “new covenant”.  This new covenant was mentioned in the Old Testament book of Jeremiah (“the days are coming declares the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the people of Israel”).  The New Testament contains 27 separate works attributed to at least eight different writers.  Four accounts of Jesus’s life are at the core of the New Testament.  The first three accounts are called the Synoptic and contain similar content.  Next, a history of the early church is presented followed by 20 letters to churches and individuals that deal mainly with interpretations.  The final book is an apocalypse, an encoded message to the church.