The Twelve Tribes of Israel descended from the patriarch Jacob (who was later named Israel). Jacob had 12 sons and at least one daughter (Dinah) by two wives, Leah and Rachel, and two concubines, Zilpah and Bilhah.  Joseph’s tribe was split into two factions – Manasseh and Ephraim – in a process involving Isaac’s adoption of Joseph’s sons and elimination of Reuben’s share.  The Twelve Tribes of Israel include:

  • Reuben
  • Simeon
  • Levi
  • Judah
  • Dan
  • Naphtali
  • Gad
  • Asher
  • Issachar
  • Zebulun
  • Joseph
    • Manasseh
    • Ephraim
  • Benjamin

Below are two maps of the Twelve Tribes of Israel.  The bottom map is a 1600-era map of the region.